<
****** MARCH 9, 1999(SEE *****BELOW)

B>Thanks to Donna Malone dated 3/8/99


The following bill was a part of a " city packet" and these types of bills are always on the fast track and only MASSIVE protests from the public i.e., Dog Fancy in this case can stop them. Any assistance you can give to help mount a massive protest is appreciated. Donna Malone, President, Responsible Animal Owners of Tennessee, Inc.



*****IF YOU ARE THE MEMBER OF A TENNESSEE CLUB, PLEASE CONTACT THE OTHER MEMBERS OF YOUR CLUB AND ENCOURAGE THEM TO CONTACT THEIR REPRESENTATIVES IN THE TENNESSEE HOUSE IMMEDIATELY!!!

BAD NEWS!!! In spite of the pressure that we have brought to bear on the House of Representatives to-date, this bill was sent from the AG subcommittee to the AG committee primary with a recommendation to PASS or ENACT this legislation!

I have heard reports from legislators that they are getting NO LETTERS in support for this legislation! They ARE getting emails and calls opposing the legislation although I do not know how many. Basically, they are IGNORING you! PLEASE TELL THEM THAT YOUR OPINION COUNTS!!

If you have not already done so, I urge you to immediately write And encourage them to vote against HB 0276. If you have written them, please write again and express your disbelief that the bill has gotten this far!

I am a little amazed that they are still considering the enactment of this bill in light of the fact that they have no support for it other than the City of Memphis wanting it. It is time to add another layer of protest to this opposition effort, please call the Mayor of Memphis and express your outrage POLITELY that the City is trying to get this bill passed.

Mayor Willie Herrenton - (901) 576-6000

Please use the following SUBJECT: VOTE NO ON HB 0276.

Here are 3 sample letters drafted specifically for this purpose.

LP: Legislative Plaza
WMB: War Memorial Building
Address for all members is Nashville, TN 37243
All legislators may be reached by telephone at 1-800-449-8366.

Area Code (615)

Armstrong, Joe E. (D-15)
741-0768
rep.joe.armstrong@legislature.state.tn.us

Arriola, John (D-53)
741-1852
rep.john.arriola@legislature.state.tn.us

Baird, William (R-36)
741-3335
rep.william.baird@legislature.state.tn.us

Beavers, Mae (R-57)
741-2421
rep.mae.beavers@legislature.state.tn.us

Bittle, H. E. (R-14)
741-0810
rep.h.e.bittle@legislature.state.tn.us

Black, Diane (R-45)
741-1999
rep.diane.black@legislature.state.tn.us

Bone, Stratton (D-46)
741-7086
rep.stratton.bone@legislature.state.tn.us

Bowers, Kathryn I. (D-87)
741-2509
rep.kathryn.bowers@legislature.state.tn.us

Boyer, Jim (R-19)
741-5046
rep.jim.boyer@legislature.state.tn.us

Briley, Rob (D-52)
741-2184
rep.rob.briley@legislature.state.tn.us

Brooks, Henri E. (D-92)
741-5625
rep.henri.brooks@legislature.state.tn.us

Brown, Tommie F. (D-28)
741-4374
rep.tommie.brown@legislature.state.tn.us

Buck, Frank (D-40)
741-3817
rep.frank.buck@legislature.state.tn.us

Bunch, Dewayne (R-24)
741-3730
rep.dewayne.bunch@legislature.state.tn.us

Buttry, Steven (R-18)
741-4375
rep.steven.buttry@legislature.state.tn.us

Caldwell, Gene (D-33)
741-4400
caldwell@tennesseeweb.com

Chumney, Carol (D-89)
741-1855
rep.carol.chumney@legislature.state.tn.us

Cole, Ralph (R-4)
741-5725
rep.ralph.cole@legislature.state.tn.us

Cole, Ronnie M. (D-78)
741-6241
rep.ronnie.cole@legislature.state.tn.us

Cooper, Barbara (D-86)
741-4295
rep.barbara.cooper@legislature.state.tn.us

Curtiss, Charles (D-43)
741-1963
rep.charles.curtiss@legislature.state.tn.us

Davidson, Eugene E. (D-66)
741-3979
rep.eugene.davidson@legislature.state.tn.us

Davis, David (R-6)
741-1717
rep.david.davis@legislature.state.tn.us

Davis, Ronnie E. (R-11)
741-6934
rep.ronnie.davis@legislature.state.tn.us

DeBerry, John J., Jr. (D-90)
741-2239
rep.john.deberry@legislature.state.tn.us

DeBerry, Lois M. (D-91)
741-3830
rep.lois.deberry@legislature.state.tn.us

Dunn, Bill (R-16)
741-1721
rep.bill.dunn@legislature.state.tn.us

Eckles, Mary Ann (D-49)
741-2405
rep.maryann.eckles@legislature.state.tn.us

Ferguson, Dennis (D-32)
741-7658
rep.dennis.ferguson@legislature.state.tn.us

Fitzhugh, Craig (D-82)
741-2134
rep.craig.fitzhugh@legislature.state.tn.us

Ford, Stancil (R-10)
741-2202
rep.stancil.ford@legislature.state.tn.us

Fowlkes, Joe F. (D-65)
741-1864
rep.joe.fowlkes@legislature.state.tn.us

Fraley, George W. (D-39)
741-8695
rep.george.fraley@legislature.state.tn.us

Garrett, Tim (D-50)
741-6811
rep.tim.garrett@legislature.state.tn.us

Givens, Ken (D-9)
741-0746
rep.ken.givens@legislature.state.tn.us

Godsey, Steve (R-1)
741-7623
rep.steve.godsey@legislature.state.tn.us

Goins, Mark K. (R-34)
741-7614
rep.mark.goins@legislature.state.tn.us

Gunnels, Douglas E. (R-21)
741-3736
rep.doug.gunnels@legislature.state.tn.us

Hagood, Jamie (R-17)
741-1648
rep.jamie.hagood@legislature.state.tn.us

Hargett, TrČ (R-97)
741-8201
rep.tre.hargett@legislature.state.tn.us

Hargrove, Jere L. (D-42)
741-1875
rep.jere.hargrove@legislature.state.tn.us

Halteman Harwell, Beth (R-56)
741-0709
rep.beth.harwell@legislature.state.tn.us

Hassell, Joyce B. (R-96)
741-4162
rep.joyce.hassell@legislature.state.tn.us

Head, Tommy (D-68)
741-4441
rep.tommy.head@legislature.state.tn.us

Hood, John (D-48)
741-7849
rep.john.hood@legislature.state.tn.us

Jackson, Douglas S. (D-69)
741-4499
rep.douglas.jackson@legislature.state.tn.us

Jones, Sherry (D-59)
741-2035
rep.sherry.jones@legislature.state.tn.us

Jones, Ulysses , Jr. (D-98)
741-4575
rep.ulysses.jones@legislature.state.tn.us

Kent, Joe (R-83)
741-6813
rep.joe.kent@legislature.state.tn.us

Kernell, Mike (D-93)
741-3726
rep.mike.kernell@legislature.state.tn.us

Kerr, Howard (R-20)
741-1769
rep.howard.kerr@legislature.state.tn.us

Kisber, Matt (D-73)
741-4156
rep.matt.kisber@legislature.state.tn.us

Langster, Edith Taylor (D-54)
741-1997
rep.edith.taylor.langster@legislature.state.tn.us

Lewis, Doyle, Jr. (D-47)
741-5068
rep.doyle.lewis@legislature.state.tn.us

Maddox, Mark L. (D-76)
741-7847
rep.mark.maddox@legislature.state.tn.us

McAfee, Bill H. (R-27)
741-3949
rep.bill.mcafee@legislature.state.tn.us

McCord, Joe (R-8)
741-5481
rep.joe.mccord@legislature.state.tn.us

McDaniel, Steve (R-72)
741-0750
rep.steve.mcdaniel@legislature.state.tn.us

McDonald, Michael Ray (D-44)
741-1980
rep.michael.mcdonald@legislature.state.tn.us

McKee, Bob (R-23)
741-1946

rep.bob.mckee@legislature.state.tn.us

McMillan, Kim A. (D-67)
741-2043
rep.kim.mcmillan@legislature.state.tn.us

Miller, Larry J. (D-88)
741-4453
rep.larry.miller@legislature.state.tn.us

Montgomery, Richard (R-12)
741-5981
rep.richard.montgomery@legislature.state.tn.us

Mumpower, Jason (R-3)
741-2050
rep.jason.mumpower@legislature.state.tn.us

Naifeh, Speaker Jimmy (D-81)
741-3774
speaker.jimmy.naifeh@legislature.state.tn.us

Newton, J. Chris (R-22)
741-2371
rep.chris.newton@legislature.state.tn.us

Odom, Gary (D-55)
741-4410
rep.gary.odom@legislature.state.tn.us

Patton, Robert D. (R-7)
741-2511
rep.bob.patton@legislature.state.tn.us

Phelan, Paul E. (D-79)
741-5091
rep.paul.phelan@legislature.state.tn.us

Phillips, Clarence W. (D-62)
741-3772
rep.clarence.pete.phillips@legislature.state.tn.us

Pinion, Phillip (D-77)
741-0718
rep.phillip.pinion@legislature.state.tn.us

Pleasant, W. C. (R-99)
741-7084
rep.w.c.pleasant@legislature.state.tn.us

Pruitt, Mary (D-58)
741-3853
rep.mary.pruitt@legislature.state.tn.us

Rhinehart, Shelby A. (D-37)
741-3879
rep.shelby.rhinehart@legislature.state.tn.us

Ridgeway, L. Don (D-75)
741-6900
rep.don.ridgeway@legislature.state.tn.us

Rinks, Randy (D-71)
741-2007
rep.randy.rinks@legislature.state.tn.us

Roach, Dennis E. (R-35)
741-2534
rep.dennis.roach@legislature.state.tn.us

Robinson, Robb (D-51)
741-3897
rep.robb.robinson@legislature.state.tn.us

Sands, Bobby (D-64)
741-4153
rep.bobby.sands@legislature.state.tn.us

Sargent, Charles Michael (R-61)
741-6808
rep.charles.sargent@legislature.state.tn.us.us

Scroggs, Larry (R-94)
741-7135
rep.larry.scroggs@legislature.state.tn.us

Sharp, Jack (R-30)
741-1934
rep.jack.sharp@legislature.state.tn.us

Stulce, Arnold A. (D-31)
741-4381
rep.arnold.stulce@legislature.state.tn.us

Tidwell, John C. (D-74)
741-7098
rep.john.tidwell@legislature.state.tn.us

Tindell, Harry J. (D-13)
741-2031
rep.harry.tindell@legislature.state.tn.us

Todd, Curry (R-95)
741-1866
rep.curry.todd@legislature.state.tn.us Towns, Joe , Jr. (D-84)
741-2189
rep.joe.towns@legislature.state.tn.us

Turner, Brenda K. (D-29)
741-6381
rep.brenda.turner@legislature.state.tn.us

Turner, Larry (D-85)
741-6954
rep.larry.turner@legislature.state.tn.us

Walker, Raymond (R-25)
741-7645
rep.raymond.walker@legislature.state.tn.us

Walley, Page (R-80)
741-2054
rep.page.walley@legislature.state.tn.us

West, Ben , Jr. (D-60)
741-6959
rep.ben.west@legislature.state.tn.us

Westmoreland, Keith (R-2)
741-4553
rep.keith.westmoreland@legislature.state.tn.us

White, John (D-70)
741-2051
rep.john.white@legislature.state.tn.us

Whitson, Zane C. (R-5)
741-6800
rep.zane.whitson@legislature.state.tn.us

Williams, Mike (D-63)
741-4389
rep.mike.williams@legislature.state.tn.us

Windle, John Mark (D-41)
741-1260
rep.john.windle@legislature.state.tn.us

Winningham, Les (D-38)
741-6852
rep.leslie.winningham@legislature.state.tn.us

Wood, Bobby G. (R-26)
741-3920
rep.bobby.wood@legislature.state.tn.us


Here are 3 sample letters drafted specifically for this purpose.


The above referred bill is problematic. Its wording is:

AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 44, Chapter 17, relative to the disposition of dangerous dogs causing serious injury to humans or other animals.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE:

b Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a , any home rule municipality or county is authorized to adopt local ordinances providing for the disposition of dangerous dogs and/or dogs causing death or serious injury to humans or other animals.

Section 2. This act shall take effect upon becoming a law, the public welfare requiring it.

Although the bill appears innocuous, the fact is that it poses problems for responsible dog owners. For instance, if enacted, it will:

1 Allow home rule municipalities and counties to enact breed speciŽc legislation

i.e., laws restricting or prohibiting the ownership of
pit bulls
and similar breeds,
and/or additional breeds like
Rottweilers,
Doberman Pinschers,
Chow Chows, etc.

P>

((Here are 3 sample letters drafted specifically for this purpose. ))

2 Allow home rule municipalities and counties virtually unlimited authority to promulgate laws concerning " dangerous dogs.¾ In such laws, " serious injury¾ is usually deŽned as any injury requiring suture s occurring under any circumstances, whether provoked or not. " Or other animals,¾ can mean domestic or not, including squirrels, birds, cats, and dogs, whether trespassing on an owner¼s property or not. Such laws also often include provisions that are costly, complicated or impossible for owners to comply with, including insurance, kenneling and muzzling. A Žnal problem is that normal dog behaviors, such as barking or growling, are frequently deŽned as " threatening¾ or " menacing¾ and the dog, therefore, labeled " dangerous.¾

An expansion of current law is unnecessary. T.C.A. 44-17-120 gives local governments the authority necessary to deal with the extremely rare instances of real serious injury to or death of a human. That law is:

44-17-120. Destruction of dog causing death or serious injury to human - Notice to dog¼s owner.

Any dog which attacks a human and thereby causes death or serious injury may be destroyed upon the order of the judge of the circuit court of the county wherein the attack occurred. Such orders shall be granted on the petition of the district attorney general for the county. The petition shall name the owner of the dog, and the owner shall be given notice as in civil cases, that if the owner does not appear before the court within Žve 5 days of the receipt thereof and show cause why the dog should not be destroyed, then the order shall issue and the dog shall be destroyed. [Acts 1978, ch. 757, 1; T.C.A. 44-123.]

The City of Memphis is aware of this law. It has used it to conŽscate and destroy dogs involved in incidents. One owner was also found guilty of, I believe, negligent homicide. That particular owner also lost a civil suit arising out of the incident.

One of our supporters contacted Senator Dixon's ofŽce and was advised that the City claimed it had a problem enforcing laws in the Hickory Hill area, which was why it needed this law. One is forced to wonder if the City is unable to enforce EXISTING law, why they think additional law will make any difference.

This individual was also advised a recent decision against the City for $350,000 over a dangerous dog incident was further justiŽcation for the law. The judgment arose because the City was negligent in enforcing a dangerous dog law and FAILED to properly enforce that law after intervening and Žnding the owner negligent and thereby assuming a SPECIAL and not GENERAL responsibility in the case. The City imposed requirements on the owner and failed to insure those requirements were met.

The Memphis shelter manager is telling people that there is nothing he can do about dangerous dogs and that they have to take their case to the Attorney General¼s ofŽce. This is NOT TRUE according to the City Attorney¼s ofŽce. The City Attorney's ofŽce veriŽed that Childers, as a representative of the City, could take these cases to the A.G. The fact is he is simply not doing so. Memphis recently enacted a leash law adequate to address any situations T.C.A. 44-17-120 may not address. Its provides no dog may run at large and no person shall use a dog as a weapon or to threaten or harass other persons or animals. A copy is attached hereto with relevant portions underlined. In addition, that law has a clause that if a dog is found running at large it is prima facia evidence that current restraint methods are inadequate and allows animal control to require owners to meet additional restraint requirements.

The City of Memphis has all the authority necessary to address its dog related problems. What Memphis lacks is effective, efŽcient animal control and enforcement of its existing laws. Unless and until these issues are addressed, Memphis will continue to suffer from dog related problems. Additional legislation will not resolve the situation.

Finally, so you know, several years ago, the City of Memphis attempted to get a similar bill introduced. The purpose of the bill was to do an " end run¾ around a Tennessee Court decision obtained by our organization overturning a breed speciŽc, dangerous dog law. The sponsor Rep. Ed Haley , on learning what the City was attempting to do, agreed to pull the bill. We believe this is a renewed effort to circumvent that court decision.


Here are 3 sample letters drafted specifically for this purpose.

BODY>