Governor's action center: 1-800-932-0784
Fax: 717-772-8284

PA Dog Law Revisions Act 151 (HB 2702) Summary

Third Class Cities Will be allowed to write their own dog licensing ordinances setting whatever license rates they see fit. This act will permit them to write their own dangerous dog ordinances. Therefore they can ban any breed of dog or set exceedingly high license rates on any breed they wish.
Also, they can set ownership requirements such as muzzling,.confinement, and/or special insurance.

Third class cities are as follows: Aliquippa, Allentown, Arnold, Beaver Falls, Bethlehem, Bradford, Butler, Carbondale, Chester, Clariton, Coatesville, Connellsville, Corry, DuBois, Duquesne, Easton, Erie, Farrell, Franklin, Greensburg, Harrisburg, Hazleton, Hermitage, Jeannette, Johnstown, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lock Haven, Lower Burrell, McKeesport, Meadeville, Monnessen, Monongahela, Nanticoke, New Castle, New Kensington, Oil City, Parker City, Pittstown, Pottsville, Reading, St. Marys, Shamokin, Sharon, Sunbury, Titusville, Uniontown, Warren, Washington, Wilkes-Barre, Williamsport, and York

The following PA House of Representatives members voted for the Third-Class Cities amendment originally offered by

Rep. Italo Cappabianca (D,Erie): All Democrats (except Mundy) and Republicans Allen, Boyes, P.Browne, Dempsey, Dent, Fairchild, Gannon, Harhart, Hasey, Haste, Hutchinson, Jadlowiec, Kenney, Lynch, Phillips & Serrafini.

The following did not cast a vote on the amendment:

Republicans Pitts, Raymond, & Saylor and Democrats Bishop, Corrigan, Cowell, Horrey, James, Kaiser, Mayernik, Myers, Washington & Williams.

Decentralization by County ....

Gives Secretary of Agriculture power to allow counties to run their own dog control operations. Explicitly spells out the enclosure the owner of a dangerous dog must build in order to keep the dangerous dog.

This section takes effect immediately upon the Governor's signature. All PA Senators voted for H.B. 397.

The following members of the PA House of Representatives voted against H.B. 397:

Republicans Baker, P.Browne, Dent, Habay, Hutchinson, Maitland, Nickol, Platts, Saylor, S.Smith, Waugh, & Wogan, and Democrats Blaum, Cawley, Colafella, Colaizzo, Coy, Dermody, Deweese, Evans, Fajt, George, Lagrotta, Lescovitz, Devdansky, Markosek, Mayernik, Mundy, Petrarca, Readshaw, Rooney, Sainato, Scrimenti, Shaner, Stetler, Sturla, Surra, Tangretti, Tigue, Travaglio, Trello, Van Horne, Veon, Walko, & D.Wright.

The following members did not cast a vote on H.B.397:

Republican Farmer and Democrats Gigliotti, Laughlin, Lucyk, and Rudy.