1-13-2006

ILLINOIS HB4213

Just in....this will not be heard 1-18-06 as planned.

The following is considering SERIOUS breed specific legislation.
This bill has just been released to the State Agriculture & Conservation Committee for hearings.
Please place a personal letter, phone call or send a fax to the following Committee members.
Only faxes, snail mail and phones calls are documented.
If you can be present at any of the upcoming hearings this is the best way to combat this legislation.
During any of your contacts, always be courteous and polite and be well informed.
Your voice and opinion is important so make it credible.
The state of Illinois has introduced a bill that will become a STATE-WIDE LAW if passed
that will effect every Rottweiler and pit bull owner within the state.

This bill creates a list referred to as "scheduled dog breeds" which includes;

ROTTWEILERS
American Pit Bull Terriers
American Staffordshire Terriers
Pit bulls
Pit bull terriers
Staffordshire Terriers

And furtherů
makes it a "MANDATORY PRESUMPTION" that any dog whose breed is listed is "dangerous" or "vicious" based on any verified complaint.
This bill also mandates housing and additional requirements imposed on these 'scheduled dog breeds'
This bill will have its first hearing on



By the Agriculture & Conservation Committee members;
(QUICK EMAIL LIST AT BOTTOM OF PAGE)

Chairperson : Kurt M. Granberg D
300 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0066
(217) 557-7598 FAX
sstaley@hds.ilga.gov

Vice-Chairperson : Brandon W. Phelps D
292-S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
217) 782-5131
Bphelps@yourclearwave.com

Republican Spokesperson : Donald L. Moffitt R
223-N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
217) 782-8032
(217) 557-0179 FAX
Moffitt@grics.net

Member: Mike Boland D
243-E Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-3992
(217) 782-5201 FAX
ILRepMikeBoland@aol.com

Member: Shane Cultra R
230-N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 558-1039
ShaneCultra105@yahoo.com

Member: Lisa M. Dugan D
260-W Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
217) 782-5981
(217) 557-7643 FAX
Lisadugan@sbcglobal.net

Member: Robert F. Flider D
200-5S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8398
(217) 782-2528 FAX
Bobflider@repflider.com

Member: Jack McGuire D
239-E Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8090
(217) 557-6465 FAX
JSHARP@HDS.ILGA.GOV

Member: Richard P. Myers R
200-7N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0416
(217) 782-5257 FAX
RepMyers@macomb.com

Member: Robert W. Pritchard R
212-N Stratton Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0425
(217) 557-7205 FAX
Bob@pritchardstaterep.com

Member: David Reis R
228-N Stratton Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-2087
(217) 782-1336 FAX
David@davidreis.org

Member: Dan Reitz D
200-9S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-1018
(217) 782-0945 FAX
Repreitz@egyptian.net

Member: Jim Sacia R
210-N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8186
(217) 558-7016 FAX
Jimsacia@areoinc.net

Member: Keith P. Sommer R
216-N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0221
(217) 782-1275 FAX
Sommer@mtco.com

Member: Patrick J Verschoore D
250-W Stratton Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-5970
(217) 558-1253 FAX
pverschoore@legis.state.il.us

Again when you make your call or send your fax to the above...
be sure to be courteous, professional, polite and knowledgeable.
These lawmakers get enough rude comments and usually see the bad side of the dog fancy,
let us present the better side of our breeds.
For sample letters that can be used a guides;
http://www.rott-n-chatter.com/rottweilers/laws/sampleletters.html

QUICK EMAIL LIST
sstaley@hds.ilga.gov, ILRepMikeBoland@aol.com, ShaneCultra105@yahoo.com, Lisadugan@sbcglobal.net, Bobflider@repflider.com, Moffitt@grics.net, RepMyers@macomb.com, Bphelps@yourclearwave.com, Bob@pritchardstaterep.com, David@davidreis.org, Repreitz@egyptian.net, Nscherer@hds.ilga.gov, Jimsacia@areoinc.net, Sommer@mtco.com, pverschoore@legis.state.il.us,JSHARP@HDS.ILGA.GOV