Denver, Colorado Protest the killing of Innocent Pets

UPDATE 4-29-06

FROM DENVER!!!!! (BSL PROPOSALS BELOW DENVER UPDATE!!)
BAND member Lisa Ransdell has set plans for the one year anniversary of the reinstatement
of the Denver breed ban and here they are...
On Tuesday, May 9th we'll have a Candlelight Vigil outside Denver's Municipal Animal
Shelter to memorialize the 1100 dogs that have been killed just because of the way
they look. We will all arrive at 8 p.m. for an official 8:30 p.m. start time.
Address and directions to the shelter are below
. This will be a solemn event, there will be no speakers, but probably plenty of media, so
we ask you to please be the best representative of our breeds you can be. The
theme will be about the dogs, so highlight that in your signs, specifically that these
dogs are targeted for how they look. As you know, many other breeds of dogs
have been identified by Animal Control as Pit Bulls that have been American Bulldogs, Mastiffs, Boxer mixes, etc.
If you or someone you know has had their dogs killed by Denver's Animal Control as part
of this breed ban, please e-mail photos of the dogs to both of these e-mail
addresses: lrandsdell@comcast.net and Lisa.Ransdell@du.edu. She will put them on a
large banner that will show some of the dogs that have been killed.
Please bring your own candle, and know that if it is windy that night, it could be a good
idea to bring a brown paper bag with you as well to keep the candle from blowing out.
We will have some candles there, but not enough for everyone.
If you need help with ideas for your own sign, stop by the SorryAgain.com website to see
how some of the captions of the photos from that site highlight the dogs. Many
of them say things like, "I'm sorry you're scared of me," alongside the photo
or "I'm sorry you want to kill me just for the way I look."
This event is to commemorate the dogs and highlight the fact that dogs are being killed
just for the way they look. I've talked to dog people from all around the country
who do not truly believe that the City of Denver is picking up good family dogs
and killing them. People need to know this is happening here and is happening
or could happen elsewhere.
If you are outside of Denver, but want to support us, feel free to have your own vigil at
8:30 p.m. Mountain Time (10:30 p.m. Eastern Time, 7:30 p.m. Pacific Time) and
write to let us know what you are doing. We dog people are all in this together!
I'm going to ask you to e-mail here at ThePitBullBAND@aol.com only if you can come--you
don't need to write if you can't make it--so we can get a good count.
If you need further information, please contact Lisa at the above address. I hope to see you there.
Sonya Dias
The Pit Bull BAND (Breed Awareness, Not Discrimination)
Denver Municipal Animal Shelter is at 678 South Jason Street. The nearest major cross
streets are Alameda and I-25. If you take the first light south, just west of the I-25
overpass from Alameda Street, that is Jason. The shelter will be on the left a
few blocks down.


Communities in Colorado with pending BSL

Lakewood Colorado Update
Vicki Stack svstack@aol.com
303-233-2574
Lakewood City Council
FROM STUDY SESSION April 17, 2006, 7:00 P.M.
Decisions were not made at the study session but the consensus
was to move forward in the direction of making the owner more
responsible for the actions of their pet. Some council members and
staff believe licensing ALL dogs will curb the problem we are experiencing
with vicious animals. It has been proposed that the YEARLY fee range
from $7.00 (neutered and spayed) to $75.00 (unaltered) per dog, with the
latter still open for discussion. The draft ordinance states ALL dogs must be
licensed, no exceptions.
There will be an opportunity for Public Comment, but if you prefer,
you can e-mail your comments

ARVADA, COLORADO
Model ordinance up before Council that is NOT BSL…
but it could very well become BSL according to AC…
so please write and urge them to use the proposed Model ordinances.
ATTEND ALL MEETINGS AND BE POLITELY VOCAL!
CONTACT BECKY (AC) IF YOU LIVE IN THE AREA 720-898-6853
Arvada mailing address: 8101 Ralston Road
P.O. Box 8101
Arvada, CO 80001-8101
Phone: 720-898-7000
Mayor Ken Fellman
720-898-7519 (w)
303-431-8264 (h)
kfellman@arvada.org
Aaron Azari
720-898-7000 ext. 2026 (w)
aazari@arvada.org
Don Allard
303-420-6559 (h)
dallard@arvada.org
Lorraine Anderson
303-424-5664 (h)
lorraine-arvada@comcast.net
John Malito
720-898-7000 ext. 2197 (w)
303-431-2515 (h)
jmalito@arvada.org
Marc Williams
303-424-4486 (w)
3023-940-7593 (h)
mwilliams@arvada.org
Steve Urban
303-421-3377 (h)
surban@arvada.org

Golden, Colorado
May 18th Study session- no public comment.
Meetings are held in the City Council Chambers
City Hall, 911 10th Street, Golden CO 80401
beginning at 7 pm
An agenda will be posted on web site www.cityofgolden.net
by 5 pm on the Friday
before the meeting and will have a time for the discussion indicated on it.
If you live in Golden and have Comcast,
the meetings are broadcast on Channel 8.
Phone: 303-384-8014
Fax: 303-384-8001

Address & Contact Information
Mayor Charles J. Baroch cbaroch@ci.golden.co.us
303-278-9697
Councilor Mary Weaver mweaver@ci.golden.co.us
720-217-5294
Councilor Lynne Timpeiro ltimpeiro@ci.golden.co.us
303-273-9302
Councilor Jacob Smith jsmith@ci.golden.co.us
303-216-1680
Councilor Karen Oxman koxman@ci.golden.co.us
303-278-0400
Councilor Diane Chesbro dchesbro@ci.golden.co.us
303-279-7603
Councilor Arthur Chen achen@ci.golden.co.us
303-384-9834