THIS PAGE IS A WORK IN PROGRESS
As information becomes available it is posted...

Questions or comments?
email: doglegislation@rott-n-chatter.com

To view Bill 861 and its progression
CLICK HERE
9-8-05
Thanks to The Animal Council for this information
CA SB 861 REACHED THE GOVERNOR AT 9:00 A.M. ON SEPTEMBER 7, WEDNESDAY.
The Governor has 12 days in which to act." For this bill, time is now short.

The Governor can do one of 3 things:
1. Veto a bill and return it to the house of origin with objections
where the objections are entered in the journal and the bill
reconsidered. The Legislature has 60 days, not including joint
recesses, to override the veto by a 2/3 vote in each house.
Overrides are very rare.
2. Sign the bill, and it becomes law.
3. Take no action in which case the bill becomes law at the end of
the time for taking action.

CA SB 861 VETO CAMPAIGN REMINDERS:
To use the Doberman Pincher Club of America LobbyNow tool to generate
a fax asking Governor Schwarzenegger to veto CA SB 861
http://dpca.lobbynow.com/issues?SB861Governor
If using your organization letterhead, fax your letter directly:
Via Fax: 916-445-4633
Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
State Capitol Building
Sacramento, CA 95814
Re: SB 861, Animals: dogs: spay, neuter, and breeding programs: VETO REQUEST
ALSO, please call the Governor's automated system by dialing:
(916) 445-2841
Press option 2, then 6, then 2.
It is very easy and you will NOT speak with a live person. It is basically a poll.
These will be counted in addition to our letters.
(Note, the bill option list asks for support or opposition for the dangerous and vicious dog bill)

8-31-05
Next stop the Governor's office...
NOW...this is VERY, VERY IMPORTANT.
I received inside information FROM the Governor's office that when the bill is presented
to him in will be inside a folder ALONG WITH ANY hard copies of letters
sent to the Governor and his office....SOOOOO..ladies and gentlemen
we now MUST write a letter, place a stamp on it and MAIL IT ASAP
...particularly ALL California residents!!!!
This is VITAL!!! OUR ONLY HOPE AT STOPPING THIS !!!
This needs to be stressed....this is a SPAY/NEUTER BILL NOT a bill that BANS...
so please address the bill verbage only....this is so important.
Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
State Capitol Building
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-445-2841
Fax: 916-445-4633

8-30-05
The most effective thing we can possibly do at this point is to email, fax and call Governor Schwarzenegger.
Contact numbers, etc. are listed below for Governor Schwarzenegger


If you have not done so, please go to
http://dpca.lobbynow.com/issues?SB861senate
and vote your opposition to this frightening bill.
You can simply select from a series of multiple choice statements and emails will be
automatically compiled and sent out to all of the Senators...
If you have not done so,....DO IT NOW!!!
Thanks Dante for letting us know about this great tool!!

Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
State Capitol Building
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-445-2841
Fax: 916-445-4633

Washington D.C. Office
134 Hall of the States
444 North Capitol Street NW
Washington D.C. 20001
Phone: 202-624-5270
Fax: 202-624-5280

Fresno Office
2550 Mariposa Mall #3013
Fresno, CA 93721
Phone: 559-445-5295
Fax: 559-445-5328

Los Angeles Office
300 South Spring Street
Suite 16701
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Phone: 213-897-0322
Fax: 213-897-0319

Riverside Office
3737 Main Street #201
Riverside, CA 92501
Phone: 951-680-6860
Fax: 951-680-6863

San Francisco Office
455 Golden Gate Avenue
Suite 14000
San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: 415-703-2218
Fax: 415-703-2803

To send an Electronic Mail please visit:
http://www.govmail.ca.gov


UPDATE 8-22-2005

The California State Assembly passed Senate Bill 861 today. The bill will now go to the Senate for what is called a 'concurrence vote'. This bill may be assigned to a Senate committee since it is no longer the original bill passed earlier this year by the Senate. However there is the possibility the bill may go directly to the floor for a vote. If this bill should also pass the Senate it will go to the Governor to be signed into law. The significance of this bill is, though this is NOT a ban, it is BSL in that it will permit ANY area within the state of California to require ANY specific breed of dog to be spayed or neutered. Many such areas have already met and are considering changes in their local ordinances to require 'pit bulls', and all of the named bully breeds and some have suggested other breeds such as ROTTWEILERS! Many other states in the U.S. are watching to see if this passes so that they too may incorporate similar legislation. There are no specific provisions made for maintaining ANY intact dogs, such as for showing, service dogs, breeding, etc. This can ultimately become a very effective way to ban breeds. California is a leading state in legislative matters and we cannot afford for this bill to proceed any further than it already has. Our very breed may be at stake since we have the 2nd most targeted breed in the world.
Please place a personal phone call or send a fax to the following Senators...even if you are not a resident of California.
This is too important not to respond ASAP!
This bill could be on the Senate floor as early as Thursday, August 25, 2005.


Below are links to each of the California Senators.
Please start with the Rules Committee to encourage them to assign SB 861 to a committee and not let it go directly to the floor!
Senate Rules Committee:
Perata, Don (Chair),
Battin, James (Vice-Chair),
Ashburn, RoyBowen, Debra Cedillo, Gilbert
Senator.Aanestad@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Ackerman@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Alarcón@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Alquist@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Ashburn@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Battin@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Bowen@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Campbell@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Cedillo@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Chesbro@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Cox@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Denham@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Ducheny@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Dunn@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Dutton@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Escutia@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Figueroa@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Florez@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Hollingsworth@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Kehoe@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Kuehl@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Lowenthal@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Machado@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Maldonado@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Margett@sen.ca.gov, Senator.McClintock@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Migden@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Morrow@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Murray@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Ortiz@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Perata@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Poochigian@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Romero@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Runner@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Scott@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Simitian@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Soto@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Speier@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Torlakson@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Vincent@sen.ca.gov

This is our last chance to stop this state wide BSL legislation! When you call, you will be asked if you live in California, as Californians will receive preference. We cannot let our dogs down!

Again when you make your call or send your fax to the above...be sure to be professional. These lawmakers get enough rude comments and usually see the bad side of the dog fancy, let us present the better side of our breed.

UPDATE 8-17-2005


CALIFORNIA SB 861 by Senator Jackie Speier (D-8) of Hillsborough, Co-authors Sen. Torlakson, Asm. Member Evans, was amended yesterday, August 15 to clarify and correct the July 5 amendments, heighten the emphasis on "overpopulation" of "defective" dogs and de-emphasize control of dangerous dogs. In effect, SB 861 still modifies the comprehensive dog breed specific preemption from Section 31683 of the Food and Agricultural Code, creates a new Chapter 7 in Part 6, Division 105 of the Health and Safety Code, specifically a new Section 122330, now amended to recite findings about the need to control breeding of "defective animals that present a public safety risk" and a new Section 122331 to allow local jurisdictions to enact breed specific mandatory spay/neuter and breeding restrictions if they compile and report to certain bite data (which they are already required to but do not always do.)

From Jan C. 8-05

Most already know the contents and possible ramifications on SB 861, however now the California State Insurance Commissioner has publically indicated that there is the possibility that if this passes and areas adopt mandatory S/N of any specific breeds... owners of those particular breeds will be refused homeowner insurance.

There are no laws within this state to prohibit insurance companies from being discriminatory by breed.


ALSO: I have mentioned before.. but it really does bear mentioning again..lest any of you are misled.
According to the legislative procedures in California AND my conversation with MY State Senator a few moments ago (July 28)...:

This bill was officially 'hijacked' and had a 'gut amend', AFTER it had already gone through committees and PASSED the full SENATE. As we all know it has passed committee in the ASSEMBLY now and is ready for the full Assembly floor. If it passes the House and returns to the Senate the procedure would be for Senator Speier to request a "concurrance vote'.....because the bill had been amended while in the House and she is asking for the Senators to revote and pass it as amended.
NOW, here is where there has been some controversy....the RULES allow this to happen but some are saying NOT SO, the bill MUST return to committee/s in the Senate.

HERE is what can happen...as mentioned above...the RULES permit a revote on the floor WITHOUT having to go to committee...but it is up to the SENATE RULES COMMITTEE as to what will happen..
I have been informed that the Rules Committee has in fact released GUT AMENDED bills directly to the floor in the past. The actual likelihood of this happening is lessened by the fact that this is so controversial and will probably be automatically assigned to a committee. BUT I have been informed by my Senator to WATCH THIS VERY CLOSELY...in the event the Rules Committee submits it to the floor, something of which they can do and have done in the past...

I hope I have clarified this. I have read and reread the rules and I have argued over this fact...that a gut amended bill can go straight to the floor if the Rules Committee decides...it does apparently happen...and now it has been officially confirmed....
so be ready to rise up again, once the bill appears on the Assembly floor...if it passes there it will head to the Senate and hopefully we can stop it there.... jan