MyDogVotes Candelight Vigil was held on 8/20/06 
BSL Victories!!
*Humbolt, Iowa - BSL voted down - WE WIN!!!!!! *Northlake, Illinois - Removed breed specific language from the city ordinance *Sacramento, California - Declines to adopt mandatory spay/neuter ordinance *American Dog Owners Association (ADOA) Wins Judgment Against City of Englewood, New Jersey To Overturn Breed Specific Law. Looking up... Middletown, Ohio Looking at removing breed specific language from ordinance We still have the chance to make a difference! (225)647-2841 Brandon, Mississippi Police and other officials are delaying the enforcement of a newsly enacted pit bull ban while city officials review the ordinance. They are looking at other cities' handling of these matters. We might have a chance. Mayor Carlo Martella City of Brandon P.O. Box 1539 Brandon, MS 39043 Phone: (601) 824-4578 James L. Morris Alderman at Large 3155 Louis Wilson Road Brandon, MS 39042 Phone: (601) 825-4486 Barbara Mangum Alderwoman, Ward 1 808 S. College Street Brandon, MS 39042 Phone: (601) 825-0381 David "Grumpy" Farmer Alderman, Ward 2 585 Shiloh Road Brandon, MS 39042 Phone: (601) 591-0658 Tim Coulter Alderman, Ward 3 37 Sunline Ct. Brandon, MS 39042 Phone: (601) 668-9998 Lu Coker Alderman, Ward 4 650 Burnham Road Brandon, MS 39042 (601)825-4038 Yvonne Bianchi Alderman, Ward 5 10 Hunters Point Brandon, MS 39042 (601) 825-5303 Gene Sirmon Alderman, Ward 6 132 Richmond Drive Brandon, MS 39042 Phone: (601) 825-6073 Mark Baker City Attorney 306 Maxey Drive Brandon, MS 39151 Phone: (601) 824-7455 North Liberty, Iowa Looking at alternatives to BSL (but BSL still on the table) Mayor: DAVE FRANKER 625 Pebble Court North Liberty, IA 52317 665-6171 david.franker@northlibertyiowa.org Council Members: MATTHEW J. BAHL 15 Hickory St. North Liberty, IA 52317 626-6071 Email: mbahl@southslope.net GERRY KUHL 1180 Saint Andrews Drive North Liberty, IA 52317 626-6576 gerry.kuhl@northlibertyiowa.org JAMES MOODY 115 Vixen Lane North Liberty, IA 52317 400-2824 Email: james.moody@northlibertyiowa.org TOM SALM 35 N Dubuque Street North Liberty, IA 52317 626-2754 Email: tasalm@terracon.com JAMES WOZNIAK 1572 Deerfield Drive North Liberty, IA 52317 626-3704 james.wozniak@northlibertyiowa.org Fall River, MA Looking at alternatives to BSL (but BSL is still on the table) City Hall One Government Center Fall River, MA 02722 Phone: (508) 324-2000 Fax: (508) 324-2211 Fall River City Council City Council President William Whitty 508-324-2232 Fall River Mayor Edward Lambert 508-324-2600 Fall River City/Town Manager James Smith 508-324-2600 Fall River City/Town Clerk Carol Valcourt 508-324-2220 Olathe, Kansas Considering alternatives to BSL (but BSL still on the table) John Bacon At Large Term: 4/03 - 4/07 913-269-6305 jbacon@olatheks.org Bob Montgomery At Large Term: 4/01 - 4/09 913-980-8278 bmontgomery@olatheks.org Marge Vogt Ward 4 Term: 4/03 - 4/09 913-269-0625 mvogt@olatheks.org Kathleen Huttmann Ward 3 Term: 4/03 - 4/09 913-269-6360 khuttmann@olatheks.org Jim Randall Ward 2 and Mayor Pro Tem Term: 4/03 - 4/07 913-522-2729 jrandall@olatheks.org Beverly Wittenborn Ward 1 Term: 4/03 - 4/07 913-269-6302 bwittenborn@olatheks.org Mayor Michael Copeland Term: 4/03 - 4/07 913-971-8500 mcopeland@olatheks.org BSL PENDING Gonzales, Louisina City of Gonzales 120 South Irma Boulevard Gonzales, Louisiana 70737-3698 Bridgett writes that there will be a Town Meeting Aug 28th at 5:30 pm at the Gonzales City Hall discussing proposed BSL. She urges anyone in the area to PLEASE attend. Mayor Johnny Berthelot, Council members Larry Savell, Alvin Dragg, Terance Irvin, Kenneth Matassa, Ronald Waguespack and William "Bill" Landry Chief of Police may be emailed thru Tammy@GonzalesLa.com Memphis, Missouri BSL being considering - next meeting is September 7, 2006 Memphis City Hall 135 South Main Street, Memphis, MO 63555 (660) 465-7285 (660) 465-7342(fax) Merriam, Kansas BSL being considered Mayor Carl Wilkes 9416 W. 49th Terrace Merriam, KS 66203 (913) 722-1312 mayorw@merriam.org Bryan Burks, Ward 1 Council Vice President 9821 West 50th Terrace Merriam, KS 66203 (913) 262-6546 bryanb@merriam.org Chad Rowe, Ward 1 4749 Knox Merriam, KS 66203 (913) 831-0144 chadr@merriam.org Dan Leap, Ward 2 5848 Merriam Dr. Merriam, KS 66203 (913) 631-5326 dan@guitarlamp.com John Crabtree, Ward 2 10113 W. 59th Terrace Merriam, KS 66204 (913) 789-9028 jcrabtree@eventconceptsinc.com Nancy Hupp, Ward 3 Council President 10172 Edelweiss Circle Merriam, KS 66203 (913) 831-4471 nancyh@merriam.org Christine Evans Hands, Ward 3 10206 Edelweiss Circle Merriam, KS 66204 (913) 384-5340 chrish@merriam.org Gayle Stephens, Ward 4 8117 W. 61st St. Merriam, KS 66204 (913) 789-7958 gstephens1@kc.rr.com Shawn McConnell, Ward 4 8323 W. 61st Street Merriam, KS 66204 (913) 384-0764 shawnm@merriam.org City Hall The City of Merriam 9000 W. 62nd Terrace Merriam, KS 66202-2815 (913) 322-5500 (913) 322-5505 fax Horicon, WI BSL may be on the agenda for the August 22nd meeting, so lets get some correspondence out to all these people. Doug Plier City Attorney dougplierlaw@powerweb.net Mayor mayor@horiconwis.com Phone: (920) 485-2495 City Clerk David Pasewald (920) 485-3500 Chamber of Commerce writeus@horiconchamber.com Mayor James Grigg 485-9945 Council President Steve Neitzel 485-2821 Legislative Home/Office Phone Numbers Alderperson, 3rd District Donald Butler 485-4504 Alderperson 1st District Richard Marschke 485-2484 Alderperson, 1st District Jerry Billington 485-2356 Alderperson 2nd District Steven Neitzel 485-2821 Alderperson, 3rd District John Forster 485-4387 Alderperson 2nd District Carl Fausett 485-0566 http://www.horiconchamber.com/home.cfm James R. Wegner, Municipal Judge hmcourt@gdinet.com Beaver Dam, WI Considering BSL Mayors Office Mayor Jack Hankes Phone: 920-887-4600 ext 398 Email: mayorjack@charter.net City Clerk Gary H. Dummer Phone: 920-887-4600 ext. 338 Fax: 887-4605 Email: gdummer@charter.net City Attorney Mary Ann Schacht, Esquire 222 South Spring Street Business (920) 887-4638 Montgomery, Alabama Meeting on the 21st Physical Address City Hall 103 North Perry Street Montgomery, Alabama 36104 Mailing Address Post Office Box 1111 Montgomery, Alabama 36101-1111 Phone: (334) 241-2000 Fax: (334) 241-2600 E-mail: mayor@ci.montgomery.al.us Receptionist/Proclamations Clerk Belinda Forte' (334) 241-2000 bforte@ci.montgomery.al.us Executive Secretary to the Mayor Katie Cord (334) 241-2004 kcord@ci.montgomery.al.us Executive Assistant to the Mayor Jeff Downes (334) 241-2002 jdownes@ci.montgomery.al.us Executive Assistant to the Mayor Michael Briddell (334) 241-2005 mbriddell@ci.montgomery.al.us Wanda Fox, Executive Secretary Assistant to the Mayor Felecia Holley-Martin (334) 241-2427 fholley@ci.montgomery.al.us Assistant to the Mayor Willie Peak DISTRICT 9: CHARLES W. JINRIGHT President B: Jinright-Turner Insurance & Bonds, Inc. 4216 Carmichael Rd. (36106) P. O. Box 230308 (36123) 272-1200 DISTRICT 4: JAMES A. NUCKLES President Pro Tem H: 3143 Patrick Road (36108) 834-4015 DISTRICT 1: JIM SPEAR H: 648 Pimblico Road 36109 272-2558 Fax: 272-1846 spearj@bellsouth.net DISTRICT 2: TIMOTHY WAYNE HEAD 3809 Wares Ferry Road 36109 B: 271-4228 DISTRICT 3: JANET THOMAS MAY 1412 South Perry Street 36104 W: 269-0093 DISTRICT 5: CORNELIUS CALHOUN 1055 Largo Lane 36116 H: 280-7899 DISTRICT 6: WILLIE COOK P. O. Box 201441 (36120) H: 281-7775 DISTRICT 7: MARTHA D. ROBY 2243 Country Club Drive 36106 H: 262-0604 martharoby@knology.net DISTRICT 8: GLEN O. PRUITT, JR. H: 8642 Sturbridge Drive 36116 B: Locke & Associates 4144 Carmichael Road, Suite 20 (36106) 272-7400 FAX: 272-6106 Independence, Missouri BSL is expected to pass on 21st Office of the City Council Sheila Saxton Council Aide Phone: (816)325-7022 Fax: (816)325-7012 E-mail: ssaxton@indepmo.org Mayor Don Reimal Phone:(816)325-7022 Home Phone:(816) 461-6044 Fax:(816)325-7012 Councilmember Will Swoffer Phone:(816)325-7022 Home Phone:(816) 257-1888 Fax:(816)325-7012 Councilmember Renee Paluka Phone:(816)325-7022 Home Phone:(816) 478-8641 Fax:(816)325-7012 reneepaluka@comcast.net Councilmember Jim Page Phone:(816)325-7022 Home Phone:(816) 252-1198 Fax:(816)325-7012 Councilmember Jim Schultz Council Phone:(816)325-7022 Fax:(816)325-7012 E-mail: onelaw3@swbell.net Lees Summit, Missouri Mayor-Karen.Messerli@lees-summit.mo.us Council jhallam@mid-west.net hofmann.kathy@gmail.com rrhoads@mid-west.net (opposes) rwilliam@mid-west.net (doesn't want ban, but might be o.k. with BSL) jspallo@sbcglobal.net cockrelled@yahoo.com (he has proposed the legislation) jffreeman@att.net Swearngin@gmail.com Administrator Steve.Lewis@lees-summit.mo.us Abby York Kansas City Dog Advocates Oak Grove, Missouri Requesting additional information Meetings are held the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:00 pm at the Civic Center City Hall is located at: 1300 S. Broadway Street Oak Grove, Missouri 64075 Phone: (816) 690-3773 Fax: (816) 690-8478 Mayor Mark Fulks Alderman - Ward 1 Mary Holzbaur Hank Melhorn Alderman - Ward 2 Brad Alexander (Mayor Pro-tem) Larry Moore Alderman - Ward 3 Don Myers Jody Gorham Administration 1300 S. Broadway St. Oak Grove, MO 64075 Phone: 816-690-3773 Fax: 816-690-8478 Long, Bryan City Administrator blong@cityofoakgrove.com 816-690-3773 ext 1000 Scott, Judy Deputy City Clerk jscott@cityofoakgrove.com 816-690-3773 ext 1005 Smith, Cathy City Clerk csmith@cityofoakgrove.com 816-690-3773 ext 1004 BSL PASSED Barboursville, West Virginia - Passed BSL Clinton, Mississippi - Passed BSL but the law is being challenged Heartbreak of the week Kansas City, Kansas Pit bull amnesty ends - 180 innocent pit bulls euthanized City officials are so proud of themselves for "successfully pursuading" owners to turn their dogs in to be killed. Another senseless tragedy... Support the Cause The American Canine Foundation (ACF) is doing all it can to fight for our rights and has recently filed several lawsuits challenging BSL. PLEASE donate to and support the ACF. Please do all you can to help those fighting for our rights. It takes an incredible amount of money to file and defend a lawsuit, and positive outcomes can result in good things for everyone around the country. American Canine Foundation 23969 NE State Rte 3 Suite G101 Belfair Wa 98528 or paypal at (legislation2003@hotmail.com) Letters to Officials You can find 3 different form letters, from simple to detailed, that can be modified and sent to the above officials at www.defendingdog.com. Please voice your polite and respectful opposition to breed specific legislation! Please take action and remember... we are the only voices our dogs have...